My Ball Came to Rest ON A RAKE!! Golf Rules Explained

preview_player
Показать описание
When a ball is at rest ON (or in) a Movable Obstruction in golf, there is a certain procedure that must be used. This video explains the proper procedure for taking relief.

*NOTICE ON MARKING THE REFERENCE POINT*: I may have given the impression that marking the reference point is mandatory. It is not required to mark the reference point. BUT, it is certainly best practice and still recommended.

📖 RULE 15.2a(2) Relief When Ball is in or on Movable Obstruction Anywhere on Course Except on Putting Green:
The player may take relief by lifting the ball, removing the movable obstruction and dropping the original ball or another ball in this relief area:
--Reference Point: The estimated point right under where the ball was at rest in or on the movable obstruction.
--Size of Relief Area Measured from Reference Point: One club-length, but with these limits:
--Limits on Location of Relief Area:
------ Must be in the same area of the course as the reference point, and
------ Must not be nearer the hole than the reference point.

📖DEFINITION: Movable Obstruction
An obstruction (artificial object) that can be moved with reasonable effort and without damaging the obstruction or the course.
If part of an 'immovable obstruction' or 'integral object' (such as a gate or door or part of an attached cable) meets these two standards, that part is treated as a movable obstruction.
But, this does not apply if the movable part of an immovable obstruction or integral object is not meant to be moved (such as loose stone that is part of a stone wall).
Even when an obstruction is movable, the committee may define it to be an immovable obstruction.

🎓 LEARN MORE GOLF RULES 👇:

Рекомендации по теме
Комментарии
Автор

Great video. Lots of definitions we learned in one “simple” procedure!

rdotharder
Автор

Amazing video! You make Golf so easy to understand 👏🏼

ilsisrojas
Автор

I like that you are very precise in your definitions. Keep' em coming.

rickliners
Автор

Keep it coming bro. Absolutely outstanding.

coleroberts
Автор

This was really interesting. I'm going through some of your videos now (which are great, thanks for doing them!) and I have a question: when you're taking relief, are you allowed to move your ball from e.g. the rough to the fairway, assuming the fairway is within the relief area? I ask because of the idea of the "general area" that you mentioned.

Alternatively, when playing a scramble, let's say the ball we elect to play comes to rest just barely in the rough along the fairway. Are we all allowed to drop our balls (including the person whose ball we selected) into the fairway?

DaveHebert
Автор

My ball came to rest against a rake in a bunker, but the rake had been placed across a narrow opening to the bunker. The sand was sloped down into the bottom of the bunker, and was wet and hard packed. After removing the rake, my ball rolled down the sand, closer to the hole. There was nowhere to place the ball in the bunker without it rolling closer to the hole, because of the narrow opening and hard packed sand. It felt like I either press the ball into the sand to make it stay, or drop it outside the bunker, neither of which seems right. Is there a way to get relief from this moveable obstruction without penalty?

Really like your videos, Jay. I share them with my wife who is taking up golf.

jhg
Автор

I would simply mark the spot under the rake/ball with a tee and then proceed to throw the rake in the river and drop the ball from knee height behind the tee in line with the pin on the green. Then take my shot and move on. Total time: 28 seconds.

erichansen
Автор

What about if the rake stops the forward motion of your ball and the ball comes to rest 'leaning' on the rake. Same relief?

trinketmason
Автор

If you are dropping in the sand trap. Can you rake the sand trap before your drop?

billnotice
Автор

1.  What happens if the ball is touching but under the movable obstruction? Just move the object and no free drop?

2. So if the ball comes to rest in the rough on top of a pizza box and the fairway is less than one club length from the ball I could get a drop in the fairway as long as I'm no closer to the hole?

ericfermin
Автор

This happened to me once, and I just so happened to be enjoying my round with a rules committee judge. He told me to place, not drop, the ball.

Philjpage
Автор

So if my ball comes to rest against the handle of a rake in the bunker, as sometimes happens, I can still get the one clublength free relief? I guess if it's touching the handle or also close enough that the rake obstructs my swing would be two scenarios.

peterelliott
Автор

In the sand, Would you still drop or place?

LaGataNegra
Автор

Pick the ball up and count it as holed. Celebrate next time the drink cart passes by.

saifonlawrence
join shbcf.ru