Tau Conga Line - Improving Hits for Your Tau Army

preview_player
Показать описание
The For The Greater Good Army Rule can allow your entire Tau army +1 ballistic skill and sustained hits 2 during Kauyon.

Learn how to do this with the Tau Conga Line Technique seen in this video.

Kroot Conga Line Image Credit: Imgur user dhamster
Warhammer and Tau are owned by Game Workshop
Mission Card Picture from Ark of War Video

Learn more about 2009 Conga Line Rule from
Рекомендации по теме
Комментарии
Автор

This has now been fixed in rule commentary and units eligible to shoot lose eligibility after shooting unless otherwise stated.

TechRichVideos
Автор

This is completely wrong. It does have a rider in the rules its right there. "Until the end of the phase, this unit is considered a Guided unit, and that friendly unit is considered an Observer unit." The classification is set for the rest of the shooting phase.

alphamavrickgaming
Автор

An observer unit isn’t eligible to be guided once they are observing

campercasey
Автор

FAQ Written by TAU Discord Mod

**Q: Conga Line? Daisy Chain? What's the deal with the *For the Greater Good* loophole?**

A: The *For the Greater Good* faction ability does not prevent you from selecting a Guided unit as the activating unit's Observer.

To be selected as an Observer, a unit must also have the faction ability and be:
* Eligible to shoot
* Not a Fortification
* Not battle-shocked
* Not an Observer already

**Q: It says you need to be eligible to shoot! If a unit is Guided, that means it has already Shot!**

A: As clarified in the Rules Commentary (pg. 14), units that have Shot are still considered Eligible to Shoot. This is apparently to facilitate the use of Shoot Again, Shoots Back, Shoot on Death, and Overwatch rules, which require a unit to still be eligible to shoot after having Shot.

> Some rules allow units (or sometimes models or weapons) to shoot again in your Shooting phase, or shoot ‘as if it were your Shooting phase’. **Such rules cannot be used on a unit unless it is eligible to shoot when that rule is used.**

The unit ability that allows them to Shoot Again isn't making a unit eligible to shoot; eligibility to shoot is a prerequisite to use the rule in the first place.

So, as long as a unit:
* Did not Advance (unless equipped with an Assault weapon)
* Did not Fall Back (unless it can Fall Back and Shoot)
* Is not in Engagement Range (unless equipped with a Pistol or is a Vehicle or Walker)

It is still eligible to shoot.

**Q: If a unit remains eligible to shoot, why can't I just keep shooting with the same unit then?**

A: The Core Rules already prohibit this (pg. 19) without needing to declare a unit ineligible to shoot.

> Each unit can only be selected to shoot once per phase.

Therefore, a Guided unit that has Shot is eligible to be selected as an Observer.

**Q: Is this RAI?**

A: We don't know!

There are indications elsewhere that they simply didn't think through the consequences of their decision to treat the rule this way.

In the mission *The Ritual*, it states

> In each player's Shooting phase, the player whose turn it is can **select one unit from their army that is** not Battle-shocked and is **eligible to shoot**. Until the end of that turn, **that unit is not eligible to shoot** or declare a charge.

There would be no reason to explicitly declare a unit ineligible to shoot if simply shooting *before* performing the action was considered a possibility by whoever wrote this rule. We may expect FTGG to be FAQ'd or Errata'd in the future to explicitly exclude Guided units.

**Q: Should I use the Conga Line for the Greater Good?**

A: Have a discussion with your opponent before the game.

Using this RAW interpretation requires planning, coordination, and isn't easy, nor is it particularly "overpowered" compared to several other Factions' abilities at present.

TechRichVideos
Автор

Sorry but this doesnt work. I thought the same thing initially but the the rules state that the Observer needs to be eligible to shoot, which since Unit B has already shot they are no longer eligible to observe for Unit C. Guided units are declared when that unit is Selected to shoot, meaning it fires immediately and looses its eligibility.

CEOofFriendship
Автор

Bit of a stretch. By this logic, please tell me what makes a model or unit IN-eligible to shoot?
Because if the only rules are, 1, hasn't advanced, 2, hasn't Fell Back, and 3, not in engagement range then, by your logic, a model or unit without any Ranged weapon profiles is still eligible to shoot.

That makes no sense. Ranged units lose their ability to shoot once they've shot. This doesn't work.

Strategems like Fire Overwatch still work with the "eligible to shoot" restrictions because they also state the target of those strategems as "One unit from your army that is within 24" of that enemy unit and that would be eligible to shoot if it were your Shooting phase." Shooting eligibility resets at the top of every turn, including your opponents. Overwatch essentially simulates a your own shooting phase on an opponents turn. The Hellblasters example is in inherit ability of the unit that overrides the exception to the rule.

Furthermore, the secondary mission objective stating the selected unit must be "eligible to shoot" to be selected and then loses it's ability to shoot by being selected via "unit is not eligible to shoot". You're stating that it would be perfectly fine for a unit to shoot, and THEN be selected as the unit for this secondary mission because it didn't lose it's eligibility to shoot, right? So why would they write in "unit is not eligible to shoot" after being selected?

Your logic doesn't make sense, you know this is wrong. The waters have become a little muddy around where Actions were previously defined in 9th and you're taking advantage of that. You know the right way to play. Don't be that guy.

ThatGuyReth
Автор

Alot of copium from people saying 'it doesn't work'. Alot of the counter arguments are discussing RAI (Rules as intended) which unfortunately are irrelevant to RAW (Rules as Written). Until GW makes a stance to change the rule; this is entirely legal. You can pitch a fit or accept and anticipate it. If you really have a problem with it discuss it with your opponent before the game but your opponent is fully within their rights and rules of the game to use the FTGG rule this way.

Personally, I'd rather we just kept the old markerlight system but here we are.

BloodDX
Автор

This seems like the perfect place to ask this: "Can one unit be guided multiple times to different targets?" For example: Lets say we have a crisis team with meltaguns and some other guns. If I first guide it to one unit and kill it with the melta shots and then guide it to a second unit to use rest of my guns. Would this avoid the -1BS from splitting fire?

EImex
Автор

Once units are chosen as Observer or Guided, they stay that way for the entire round. The only unit that can Observe twice are Pathfinders.


You are wrong.

rubydragon
Автор

This is completely incorrect and cannot be argued. This information is inaccurate as guidance units cannot be guided themselves Even if they are eligible to shoot.

simoncrossK
Автор

At the same time as this feels cheesy, the army rule for Tau is retarded in it self. Paying tons of points for units having 4+ BS and being taxed to take ML just to hit normal isn’t a good faction ability. Compare this to fate dice, “hi our units are way better, cheaper and hits on 3+ normally and we get 12 fate dice that grants our faction insane power. FTGG ability should be much better. Tau should hit on 3+ stock and then have the FTGG ability then we can speak about it being good when the units are hitting at 2+ after being guided.

Lfcsweden-nm
Автор

it's obviously not meant to be that way. And using this(even if wording allow you to do that) is a clearly dishonest move. Go play eldar or just scam 200 points to your army list it will be the same.

diomed
Автор

lol guidet unit cant be guided and observer wtf

Hector-dogn
join shbcf.ru